Jharkhand Orthopaedic Association

History of JOA

Jharkhand Orthopaedic Association, the Association of Orthopods of the state of Forests, Jhankhand got registered Under the Societies Registration Act 21, 1860 under the able guidance of its President Prof(Dr) Sudhir Kumar and Hony.Secretary Dr Pawan Kumar wide Reg. No.126 dated 3rd June 13.

Jharkhand Orthopaedic Association got separated in the Executive / General body meeting of Annual conference of Bihar Orthopaedic Association held in our capital city, Ranchi in 2002. Ultimately it was established under the Presidentship of Prof(Dr) Paras Deo Sinha and Secretary Dr Amar Kumar Singh in 2007. The Association has a long journey with Dr Amar Kumar Singh, Dr Dwivedi Pannag Bhushan, Dr Alok Sen Gupta, Dr K D Rai and Prof(Dr) Sudhir Kumar as its Presidents. We had founder Organizing Secretary as Dr Sudhir Kumar ,who along with his team as Prof(Dr)Ramesh Lal Rajak,Dr L B Manjhi,Dr Manibhushan Prasad,Dr Ajay Kumar verma ,Dr Bijoy Kumar, Dr Pawan Kumar and Dr Ramdu Hansda was instrumental and mastermind behind organizing the first annual conference on 3 - 4th August 2007 in the department of Orthopaedics, Rajendra Institute of Medical Sciences ( RIMS ), ranchi. Second annual conference of Joa was organised along with 8th annual conference of cezioa at ranchi. It was followed by dr manjit singh sandhu, dr raghubar sharan, dr n.d.kachhap and dr pankaj kumar as its secretary ( 2012 - 13 ) who endeavoured their best to organize the annual conferences in the consecutive years in their respective places.

We have travelled a lot and have a journey to go miles ahead with specific goals and agendas. During these years, we had many positive outcomes and several drawbacks. We organized the annual conferences in the best possible way since 2007, except 2009 with very good participation and enthusiasm.

Joa has got its savings account in sbi rmcc, ranchi branch and pan no. Executive committee has been created with involvement from all the corners of the state. Finally jharkhand chapter got recognised as the 20thstate chapter of Indian orthopedic association in annual conference of ioa held at agra on 8th December 2013. Presently joa has 124 life members as Prof ( Dr ) Sureshwar Pandey being the first member of the family. We will be publishing our first newsletter as joan very soon, atleast two in a year. Ranchi, our state capital has already witnessed the successful annual conference of Indian orthopedic association under the guidance and chairmanship of late Prof ( Dr ) R P Singh in 1974. We have to develop the old glory and gesture, so that national conferences can be organised in our state in near future.

Last year free surgery had been performed by the orthopods of jharkhand in the bone and joint week. I made 48 orthopods as members of cezioa and received president appreciation award in 2012/13. I was awarded gold medal paper in annual conference of cezioa at bhilai.

We have lost two esteemed members Prof ( Dr ) RMP Jamuar, Dhanbad ( joa - 010 ) and Dr Kaushlendra Kumar, Giridih ( joa - 082 ).

25th January will be the golden day in the history of joa as our website www.joaindia.org is going to be launched on this day.

Jai JOA / jai cezioa / jai IOA / jai hind

Dr Pawan Kumar
Organizing secretary CEZCON 2014 / Secretary JOA ( 2013 - 2016 )
Phone No: 07004490709 / 09431163369 / 09472700369
Email: pawankr.barnwal@gmail.com

Address for Correspondence:
Sagar Hospital and Research Centre
Jayprakash Nagar,
Bariatu Road, Opp. to Bank of Baroda,
Sadar, Ranchi - 834012.

First JOA Journal as issued under the Founder Editorship of Dr Govind Kumar Gupta on 2nd February 2019

First time in the history of JOA two medal were awarded by IOA under the dynamic secretary
Dr Govind Kumar Gupta

  • 1. Bone & Joint Day Awards 4th August 2021 Secretary Appreciation Certificate Second Place - Jharkhand
  • 2. Annual State Awards 2021 Silver Medal - Jharkhand